Blog Post #2: Technology Usage in Real Life

So we’re hitting the home stretch of our technology class, and I’m really beginning to understand and totally seize control of everything we have been learning this semester so far. I wouldn’t say I’ve “mastered” anything yet, but we’re getting closer and closer.

I really am enjoying the last few weeks of class, and getting re-familiarized with some of my favorite online tools, excel and online presentations. I always felt like growing up these were the two big tools we used in school, and even though I knew how to use them, I never really knew how to use them to their fullest potential.

In the last I don’t know, week or so, I’ve been using excel and google sheets for EVERYTHING. Monitoring weight loss, statistical information for my football team, making graphs and figures for my students at school, just really tapping into the program far more than simply crunching numbers. It’s a fairly practical tool that’s usage goes much farther than the classroom, and I’m absolutely taking advantage of it.

With last weeks module being Online Presentation Tools, I figured I would make a PowerPoint or Google Slides and be done with it. Wrong! I’m currently putting the finishing touches on an awesome Prezi, and I had an absolute blast doing so. This unit challenged us to look past our familiar tools and reach out, and play with some new ones. Even though I didn’t like all of them (looking at you, VoiceThread) I did have fun experimenting with them, and seeing what would be fun and useful in my classrooms. I’m actually going to be using a SlideShare presentation that I found today in class. I’m excited to see how the students like something that’s a little different.

I’m looking forward to the last few weeks of class, wrapping up, and seeing all of the projects that I’ve worked on come together in one place. Here’s to hoping I get one or two more useful tools between now and then!

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #2: Technology Usage in Real Life

  1. Hi Andrew,
    I have to agree with you about re-learning some of the old tools from our own high school days. I used to be so good with PowerPoint and Excel, but I definitely needed the refresher. Like you, I’ve been using Excel for just about everything here lately too. I frequently use it at work, and it’s definitely made the job easier knowing how to work my way around it. I have to agree with you again on VoiceThread because it was my least favorite of the three resources we looked at. I don’t think it seemed to bring much to the table to differ from the rest of the resources. Maybe we just aren’t tapping into its true potential though. Nice post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

